GillzFest2016 (the nickname for our wedding)

Five months in and I am just now downloading and sharing my wedding photos. #winning!

Oh, well…. Better late than never! I am so excited to share these snapshots with you all. Everytime I reminisce about our whole wedding season, I am overwhelmed with how much God blessed us through it all. It seemed like every step of the way He was moving somehow, just to remind us that this was His plan and we were just getting to do the fun part!

As some of you may already know, the majority of our wedding was DIY, and I planned everything from top to bottom, beginning to end, myself – actually, with my mom – she helped me a lot! My bridal party and their mothers were also crucial to putting everything together that weekend. So much couldn’t have happened without their help! We were surrounded by amazing friends and family throughout our engagement, and the ways that people showered us with love, and practical help, was insane.

Here are just some of my favorites from the wedding. I will try to give brief stories and explanations and not just ramble on and on (but let’s be real, that’s going to be hard!)

IMG_3429
In memory of our loved ones
IMG_3433
All the beautiful handwritten signs were done by Hallie Stennes
IMG_3430
Hallie painted both of these canvases, and we hung them in the entryway to make it feel welcoming

IMG_3432IMG_3431

IMG_3439
I made these out of fake flowers, and real greenery from Trader Joes!
IMG_3424
The industrial venue had these pallet tables all around. Instead of renting more, we just utilized them as gift and dessert tables!
IMG_3441
My florist made my dreams come true. Link to her info at bottom of post

IMG_3442IMG_3472

IMG_3436
Centerpieces were thrift store finds and borrowed candlesticks.

IMG_3455

IMG_3454
All the stemware was either hand-me-downs, thrift store finds, or dollar store!

IMG_3452

IMG_3444
Flowers: Trader Joe’s, Candlesticks: borrowed, Crystal: gifted!
IMG_3449
One flower from every bouqet Austin has ever given me…

IMG_3445

IMG_3482
My dad built this life-size Jenga set for only $45
IMG_3478
We spray-painted a red, white and blue horseshoe set to make it fabulous
IMG_3477
My mom headed up the kids tables and she did a fantastic job

IMG_3591

IMG_3590
Flower girl baskets found at a garage sale – spray paint and glitter for the win!

IMG_3530

IMG_3706
My Free People arm band was my favorite accessory

IMG_3495

IMG_3736
sweet girls

IMG_3501

IMG_3468
(secret – my dress was even from a consignment shop!)

IMG_3462

IMG_3722
Maid of Honor & Matron of Honor zipping my boots ❤

IMG_3510

IMG_3524
Groomsmen Gift Idea: funky socks to match their personality!

IMG_3549

IMG_3554
Grooms Gift: Monogrammed Cufflinks *timeless accessory*

IMG_3618

IMG_3541
My garter set was custom ordered off of Etsy for only twenty dollars

IMG_3586IMG_3566IMG_3741IMG_3758

IMG_3844
I wanted my girls to feel themselves, so we all expressed ourselves in shoe choice!

IMG_3640IMG_3770IMG_3830IMG_4303

IMG_4417
My nephew, Bear, obviously had a good time

IMG_4435

IMG_4307
Our getaway car, custom built by Workman’s Hot Rods (a.k.a. my rad brother)

I hope that my thrifty-ness is inspiring, and that our ideas give you even better ideas! Throwing a fabulous wedding, or any party for that matter, does not have to expensive. If you’re patient, willing to put in some elbow grease, and look in some hard to find places for treasures, then you will be amazed by your finished product! You will also feel like every single piece of your special day is the very essence of yourself and your dreams.

Thanks for reading! ❤

One Reply to “GillzFest2016 (the nickname for our wedding)”

Leave a Reply

