Be Rooted, Baby, Be Rooted 

A train ride in NYC. A town home in San Francisco. Drinking coffee with a view of the Smokey Mountains. These are all day dreams I’ve had of life in another city. We all imagine at times what it would be like to live somewhere other than where we are. When you live in one city for an extended period of time – or your entire life, in my case – things start to feel dull. Everything is the same old, same old. It becomes easier to daydream and scroll through Pinterest for hours on end than to be invested in and excited about your city.


I feel like for the last 4-5 years I have had a lingering little thought in the back of my mind, and I didn’t realize until a few months ago that it was really holding me back.

Well, I won’t be in Jacksonville forever, so it’s (‘it’ was a variety of things over time) not really a big deal.

This mindset was inhibiting me from getting invested in what is happening in my city, pursuing my dreams in the context of my community, and rooting myself here in a healthy way. But in the last few months I have been more aware of this perspective and it’s been really great. Keeping up with local businesses and events, shopping local, and networking with young adults in Jax has totally changed my attitude. I have started to see opportunities for my giftings and passions right here in my city. Being involved in a local church that’s planted in the center of our city is inspiring as I get to know the community I’ve been passively participating in for years.

All of this to say: be rooted. Pay attention to what’s happening where you live and get involved. Even if it’s temporary, you can still be excited about your city and learn how to be present and involved, wherever you may be.

Jax is a beautiful, giant city bursting at the seams with dreamers, creatives, businesses, families, and dynamic individuals. If you live here, join me on the adventure of discovering them, supporting them, and being one of them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

