Now is the New Later 

Today’s post is, in essence, a book reccomendation. I recently bought one of my good friends a book called “The Crossroads of Should and Must: Find and Follow Your Passion” by Elle Luna. Flipping through the pages at Urban Outfitters I felt like he would enjoy it, and I even thought that I might eventually get myself a copy because it seemed really inspiring and artsy. 

I was right! It is inspiring and artsy! 

Yesterday my friend shared with me how much he was enjoying it, and how it had triggered the creative passion inside him that had lain quietly for quite some time. Hearing that made me so, so happy. I want my friends (and everyone for that matter) to be passionate, creative, loving people that intentionally squeeze all the good stuff out of their existence. 


I want to be one of those people too. And I feel like so often I am not. I encourage and push everyone else, but when it comes to my own life – I don’t prioritize the right things most of the time. #momentofhonesty . . . . . . But my friend strongly encouraged me in the most humble way, with a reminder that if we want new adventures then sometimes we have to make them happen. If I want to go hike a trail or go kayaking, I might have to go alone the first few times. If I want to learn how to cook, my first few classes might be me going by myself. But I have to be OK with being alone temporarily, in order to have healthy relationships in the future. We have to be willing to be true to ourselves and our own passions – regardless of what outsiders’ perception is. We should never let go of our dreams. The you inside of you is the most beautiful you, and pretending you’re something else will only slow you down. 

A powerful quote from the book is, 

“How long will you wait to honor who you are?”

I think that is a meaningful question for everyone, but especially young people. By honoring society and other peoples’ opinions you are consistently dishonoring yourself. So many get stuck and end up committing their life to something that needed their help for 3 weeks. 

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” 

I have been trying to train myself to recall the exciting plans I’ve made in the past, to be reminded of all the dreams I never wrote down, and chase again all the sparkly impossible – sounding ideas. 

Leave a Reply

